Jacksonville Suns Announce 2011 Opening Day Roster | Events

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Jacksonville Suns Announce 2011 Opening Day Roster
Jacksonville Suns Announce 2011 Opening Day Roster

The Jacksonville Suns, Double-A affiliate of the Florida Marlins, have announced the 2011 Opening Day roster, including nine players who played in at least one game during the 2010 Championship season.

The Suns lone left-handed pitcher is Brad Hand, who last season, recorded a 1-0 record and a 3.00 era in a short stint with the Suns.

Chris Hatcher, who was for a majority of the 2010 season a catcher, enters the season as a right-handed pitcher.  Hatcher hit the championship winning homerun for the Suns in the 2010 Southern League Championship.

The rest of the pitching staff are as follows: RH Jeff Allison, RH Peter Andrelczyk, RH Darin Downs, RH Corey Madden, RH Jhan Marinez, RH Joseph O’Gara, RH Garrett Parcell, RH Omar Poveda, RH Sandy Rosario and RH Dallas Trahern.

The Suns have listed for Opening Day five left-handed batters.  C Kyle Skipworth, INF Erik Lis, INF Jim Negrych, OF Kevin Mattison and OF Alex Romero.

The rest of the position players are as follows: C Luke Montz, INF Ryan Curry, INF Paul Gran, INF Chris Gutierrez, INF Ben Lasater, OF Jorge Padilla and OF Jake Smolinski.

The Suns’ current roster stands at the max number of 24 players.

Andy Barkett enters his first season as the Suns Manager and will have three returnee coaches on the staff; pitching coach John Duffy, hitting coach Corey Hart and athletic trainer Dustin Luepker.  The strength & conditioning coach for the 2011 season is Travis Smith.

The Suns open the 2011 season on Thursday April 7 at the Baseball Grounds of Jacksonville against the Huntsville Stars at 7:05 p.m. For tickets call the Suns box office at (904) 358-2846 or visit jaxsuns.com.


Downtown Jacksonville Deals

Downtown Jacksonville Businesses